I think I stumbled upon Narcissus this morning…

images

 

Brief Introduction: In Greek Mythology, Narcissus fell in love with himself when he saw his reflection in the water. This is where the term narcissism originated from.

Narcissism (noun)

Inordinate fascination with oneself; excessive self love; vanity. Synonyms; self-centeredness, smugness, egocentrism .

Early this morning, while I was browsing Instagram, I stumbled upon one Instagram account that has nothing but the person’s selfie… in different angles! I know this is not supposed to be my problem (and it’s not) and that it is her own Instagram and she can freely post whatever stuff she likes. But I hope one day she will look around and see and appreciate other beautiful things.

Nowadays, social media accounts, such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, have become a medium in getting to know a person. And if it happens that someone wants to get to know me and suddenly checks my Instagram account, I would like them to see what I am passionate about, what my hobbies are and what inspires me. I don’t want people to check my Instagram account and leave empty-handed, while shaking their heads off. I am fully aware that our lives are not as fun as how we make it seem on our social accounts, and our social accounts do not define us. But somehow it reflects us: you are what you post. We will know what are the things important to you and what are the things that you value. I would prefer browsing an Instagram account full of cars or food or places or activities than an account that has nothing but the owner’s face.

I’m not against selfies or self appreciation. It is good that we love ourselves, but let’s not get too absorbed with it. Post one or two every once in a while. Then keep the rest in your phone gallery.

Good read: Scientist link Selfies to Narcissism, Addiction and Mental Illness

Photo: Credits to: www.maniacworld.com

 

Leave a Reply

