My first Thought Catalog article!

snip

One of things in my bucket list, crossed out.

I discovered my love for writing back when I was in high school. It was when I got a taste of my first heartbreak (which was just a puppy love) that I found comfort in writing. I wrote poems and essays about love and life that I know at age 15.

Eventually, my love for writing has grown. I initially wanted to write for a magazine, but it wasn’t achievable because I don’t have the credentials to get in. Luckily, in this generation, you don’t need a degree in writing to start a blog or to share your talent. So, I started a blog to serve as my platform in writing. Though I’m not really sure if there are readers here, I mainly write here because I want to have a place where I can let go of my inhibitions and share what I love to do.

And as a writer, of course you’d want to get better at it and eventually broaden your audience. So as an avid reader of Thought Catalog, I tried my luck and submitted an article to them early this August and in less than a week, I got a response from them saying that they have published my article online already! It was such a happy moment for me. It is like a milestone that I’ve conquered. Though, the topic I have chosen was a little shallow, it was the safest article for me to submit. I mean, I don’t want to submit anything too personal. I want something general that most people can relate to. So I rummaged my old notebooks, posts, doodles and I found this article.

I wrote this article last year (2014). I remember being told that I have a big ego because I never tell or show people that I love them. When I like someone, I don’t treat them nicely, which is weird. But I think that was my defense mechanism because I don’t want to appear easy and vulnerable to them. So to my defense, I wrote this article so that people can understand me better, and for lack of better terms,  I used ‘A Girl With A Big Ego’ to describe myself, so some people can relate to it as well. I would like to think I am not the only one who is like this. Hahaha!

I am aiming to submit more articles, probably, once a month. Now, I am thinking what could be my next topic for September. Hmm. Suggestions?

By the way, you can read the full article here.

♥ Andrea

Leave a Reply

